First Grade Football Selection - Round 2 v Ganmain GGM

Coolamon Grasshoppers senior selection team of Jamie Maddox, Connor Neyland and Mitch Robinson have brought in six new faces to the First Grade team to face Ganmain GGM in our first game of the season on Sunday at Kindra Park.  The side was announced on Tuesday night as part of the 2019 jumper presentation, with the Reserves and U17s still to be announced after Friday night’s training.

After a heavy January to April pre-season including a couple of trial games, then the fortnight bye / general bye, the players are definitely looking forward to getting the season underway.  With pre-season training regularly attracting over 30 and sometimes even as many as 60 players, the coaches were quick to point out that selection sought to reward those players who applied themselves consistently to the heavy fitness / running program and skills sessions on the paddock each week.

It’s a welcome back to the Club to local junior Luke McLoughlin who re-joins the Hoppers after a couple of seasons at the Northern Jets and who will slot into the back line.   And welcome to the Club to:

  • Ruckman Anthony Atkin who joins the Hoppers from Temora
  • Centre Jake Barrett, who arrives via the AFL and the Brisbane Lions
  • Wing Lochlan Dhurrkay from the Northern Territory League
  • Half forward Jeremiah Maslin – who will resume playing after four years out with a leg injury and previously played with Wagga Tigers, and
  • Half forward Shannon Charlie who also moves across from the Northern Jets, and also previously played in the Northern Territory League

The side also recognises the preseason efforts of a few young blokes as well in three players still eligible for U17s this year: 2018 Club Rookie of the Year BJ Glyde; 2018 Club Most Improved Coop McKelvie, and 2018 leading U17 goal kicker Nick Buchanan, who added some excellent back line form to his repertoire during the off-season trial games.  All of these young green men made their first grade debuts last season and will look to build on their opportunities in 2019.

CRFNC First Grade Team v Ganmain GGM 2.00pm Sunday at Kindra Park

B: Ryan Allen, Will Graetz, Luke McLoughlin

HB: Connor Neyland, Matt McGowan, Josh Buchanan

C: BJ Glyde, Jake Barrett, Lochlan Dhurrkay

HF: Jerry Maslin, Joe Redfern, Shannon Charlie

F: Jamie Maddox, Nick Pleming, Coop McKelvie

Fol: Anthony Atkin, Luke Redfern, Max Hillier

IC: Benj Gillett, Kyle Woods, Nick Buchanan


Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published