Game Day - Round 2 - Awards

Massive day at Kindra Park for our first home game for the 2019 season.

Huge turnout with about 500 paying through the gate, plus who knows how many more came in for juniors.  The 'Koliseum' (sic) looked a picture and was well populated, with many people commenting on the amazing new facilities, including the extended ground, the bar in the new multi purpose shed at the northern end of the ground, the new PA system in full swing - including the blaring club song! - the upgraded netball courts, the fast functioning newly fitted-out canteen and the overall hospitality on the day.  Well done all.


The new extended northern end car park was a great benefit for the day as well. Thanks to D&L McCallum for its incredible Kindra Park work over summer.

On the operation front, massive thanks to every volunteer on the day.  The Game Day roster worked pretty much spot on, with everyone listed either turning up, on time, or arranging a swap. If you want to put your hand up for other roles, message the page or the website, or let any of the Board know.  So good to see so many people pitching in and sharing the load.  The next home game roster will be released on the Wednesday before the next home game, v Turvey Park on Sunday May 12.

On the field and court it was also a great day, and a welcome relief to every player to finally get going after a long off season.

Well done to all the award winners. Hopefully we'll sort out junior results and add these as well, or for the next round of games.


First Grade

Coolamon Rovers 16.8 (104) defeated GGGM 13.7 (85)

Pattison-Carroll Medal (chosen by umpires) - Best on Ground:

  • Jake Barrett

Award winners:

  • Jerry Maslin 
  • Josh Buchanan 
  • Nick Buchanan (Club towel)


Coolamon 6.9 (45) defeated by GGGM 7.4 (46)

Award Winners:

  • Lachie Owens
  • Tom Besgrove
  • Steve Senior (Club towel)


Coolamon 16.18 (114) defeated GGGM 1.3 (9)

Award Winners:

  • Bay Leary
  • Godfrey Okerenyang
  • Will Doyle (Club towel)



A Grade

Coolamon 25 defeated GGGM 23

Award winners:

  • Sarah Hooper
  • Ruby Alchin

A Reserve

Coolamon 33 defeated by GGGM 37

Award winners:

  • Zoe Leary
  • Bron Maslin

B Grade

Coolamon 23 defeated GGGM 21 

Award winners:

  • Molly Campbell
  • Molly Sloan

C Grade

Coolamon 19 defeated GGGM 10

Award winners:

  • Grace Smith
  • Sally Dean


Coolamon 26 defeated by GGGM 30

Award winners:



(thanks to Freddie Holden for the aerial shots of the day!)

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published